The Comic Bloc Forums

Go Back   The Comic Bloc Forums > General Talk > Comic Announcements, Discussions, News and Rumors

Comic Announcements, Discussions, News and Rumors Thoughts, reviews, interview links and rumors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 17th, 2007   royfan is offline   #1
royfan's Avatar
royfan
Geoffan

 
joined: Mar 2006
Location: Brisbane Queensland.
Posts: 510

Default Virus onthe Wizard site again. Beware!

AVG detects a virus everytime I go to the Wizard site today. Just giving a heads up to those who haven't visited the site yet.
 
Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007   5andman is offline   #2
5andman's Avatar
5andman
Advanced Geoffan

 
joined: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,424

Default

Someday I'll actually visit their site!
 
Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007   curiouswanderer is offline   #3
curiouswanderer's Avatar
curiouswanderer
O'Brian Tallent

 
joined: Feb 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 5,631

Default

I've been there and Norton didn't register anything. Wonder if that means your AVG is acting up or my Norton is...hhhmmmm
 
Havenplace Community Youth Center

My curiouswandering Space

Not all who wander are lost. ~JRR Tolkien
Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007   royfan is offline   #4
royfan's Avatar
royfan
Geoffan

 
joined: Mar 2006
Location: Brisbane Queensland.
Posts: 510

Default

I've been there and Norton didn't register anything. Wonder if that means your AVG is acting up or my Norton is...hhhmmmm
ddf
curiouswanderer View Post
Thats a worry. AVG doesn't detect a virus on any other sight I go to, just this one.

**Edit**

My brother just tried going to the site on his desktop comp, comes up with a virus warning as well.
Last edited by royfan; November 17th, 2007 at 08:08 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007   curiouswanderer is offline   #5
curiouswanderer's Avatar
curiouswanderer
O'Brian Tallent

 
joined: Feb 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 5,631

Default

I even just ran a scan and got nada. You might want to see about getting an update or report the problem to AVG.


what does it use for virus protection?
 
Havenplace Community Youth Center

My curiouswandering Space

Not all who wander are lost. ~JRR Tolkien
Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007   royfan is offline   #6
royfan's Avatar
royfan
Geoffan

 
joined: Mar 2006
Location: Brisbane Queensland.
Posts: 510

Default

I even just ran a scan and got nada. You might want to see about getting an update or report the problem to AVG.


what does it use for virus protection?
ddf
curiouswanderer View Post
Not sure what he's using, he has two different ones (one of them is Norton's, but I'm not sure that's the one that detected it when he went to the site, it's possible his other one is AVG as well, I'll ask him when he gets back, he's just gone to the Bottle-o)

My AVG was just updated this morning, so it won't be updates that are the problem, I will sent a message to AVG though.
 
Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2007   DABEARS is offline   #7
DABEARS's Avatar
DABEARS
KRYPTO,NOT ON THE CARPET!

 
joined: Oct 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,966

Default

I too just got an error from mine. Virus detected on Wizarduniverse.com
 
"I'm all in favor of keeping dangerous weapons out of the hands of fools. Let's start with typewriters."
- Frank Lloyd Wright
Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007   Bizarro #98 is online now   #8
Bizarro #98's Avatar
Bizarro #98
Supreme Geoffan

 
joined: Jul 2005
Location: Bizarro World
Posts: 5,118

Default

On my Mac, the virus merely downloads as a harmless file called sa.aspx apparently. I've gone to websites with viruses on my Mac before, but that's never happened.
 
"Hahahaha! Me am great hero for scaring Bizarros!" - Yellow Lantern, Sinestro of Space Sector 1482
Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007   thunderdude is offline   #9
thunderdude's Avatar
thunderdude
Prince of Pizza!

 
joined: Aug 2002
Location: albuquerque new mexico
Posts: 1,386

Default

The site said I needed a chinese language pack for some reason when I was on there earlier today.
 
Pepperoni is Perfect!
Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007   Ed Garland is offline   #10
Ed Garland's Avatar
Ed Garland
Member

 
joined: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 121

Default

My PC-cillin detected virus on their website too. What's going on there?

Best,
Ed
 
Saving the world, one student at a time.
Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007   TheRay is offline   #11
TheRay's Avatar
TheRay
a.k.a. Daniel Penland

 
joined: Feb 2002
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,946

Default

Don't know what's happening... but this has been going on for quite some time now on the Wizard site.
 
Support the Freedom Fighters ongoing starting this September!
Xbox Live ID: The Ray 360
Playstation Network ID: TheRay3
Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007   Devlyn16 is offline   #12
Devlyn16's Avatar
Devlyn16
Bill McCoy

 
joined: Jan 2004
Location: Downriver, Mi, USA
Posts: 3,973

Default

It may not be a virus, perhaps the site is coded ina away it ehibits "virus like" activity that triggers your AV proggy. Similar to the way steam from a shower could trigger older model smoke detectors.
 
Is it wrong to Quote the Devil if what he is saying is true?
Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007   royfan is offline   #13
royfan's Avatar
royfan
Geoffan

 
joined: Mar 2006
Location: Brisbane Queensland.
Posts: 510

Default

It may not be a virus, perhaps the site is coded ina away it ehibits "virus like" activity that triggers your AV proggy. Similar to the way steam from a shower could trigger older model smoke detectors.
ddf
Devlyn16 View Post
Could be, but they need to fix that, who really wants to go there and take the chance? Besides I've been there before and it never triggered it, shouldn't it do it everytime? Not just every now and then for a week or so?
 
Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2007   Danjester is offline   #14
Danjester's Avatar
Danjester
Batman-Wannabe Horseman

 
joined: Jul 2004
Location: My Flat, quite nice actually
Posts: 4,173

Default

I got something on my home pc last weekend, My AV picked it up.

The only site I looked at, beyond here and the BBC News website, was Wizard's...
 
"Rubber-stamping most of DC's output as S.A.W.F. since 2005"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2000-2008 Comic Bloc All characters and titles are © by their respective owners.